I hope this site will become a useful and informative resource for the residents of Floyd County. Can’t find something? Have a suggestion or an idea? Let me know. Your feedback is invaluable!
Follow us via the links above!
Kentucky law requires all vehicles purchased in another state to be inspected by the Sheriff in the county where the vehicle is to be licensed.
Why do I need an inspection?
An out of state inspection is only required when a vehicle is brought into Kentucky from another state or purchased in another state, and whereas the owner is going to reside in Floyd County, and would like to obtain a Floyd County license plate. Your vehicle must comply with the provisions of KRS Chapter 189 pertaining to vehicle equipment. Simply put, your vehicle must be in a safe condition for operation upon the highway and capable of transporting both persons and contents in a safe manner. This would include, but not be limited to, the brakes, steering, headlights, rear lights, brake lights, and turn signals being in place and fully operable. Additionally, all window glass must be in place and the vehicle must be equipped with operable front windshield wipers.
What will be inspected?
A Floyd County Deputy Sheriff, certified in vehicle inspections, will check the vehicle identification number (VIN) and compare it with the number on the Title or Certificate of Origin. This information, along with the vehicle’s mileage, is recorded on a Kentucky Application for Certificate of Title/Registration Form. You must take this completed form to the County Clerk to obtain your Kentucky license plate. The inspector may also check the vehicle for all safety features, including lights, wipers, horn, turn signals, glass, brakes, etc.
What is the Cost?
The fee for an inspection is $5.00 cash, personal check, certified check or money order - sorry, no credit cards. For businesses or resident who cannot get their vehicle to our office to be inspected, we can come to you but there will also be a trip fee charge of $10.00.
What is needed to have my vehicle inspected?
1. Must have an original issued Vehicle Title in hand (Copies not accepted)
2. Drivers License of person requesting inspection
3. Vehicle to be inspected MUST BE PRESENT at the time of the inspection
4. $5.00 fee payment, additional $10.00 trip fee if not inspected at the Sheriff’s Office (Cash, Personal Check, Certified Check or Money Order)
Kentucky law requires all out of state vehicles and salvage vehicles to be inspected by a certified inspector. Floyd County Sheriff’s Office has several certified inspectors on staff that can do this for you. You may bring your vehicle to the sheriff’s office or you can have an officer come to your residence. The cost for a vehicle inspection is $5.00 at the sheriff’s office or $15.00 for an on site inspection. You will need the title to your car, your driver’s license and a Kentucky Application for Title.