Follow us via the links above!
*For more information about CCDWs, please see the Kentucky State Police website.
For more information and to obtain a listing of Certified Instructors in our County, go to DOCJT’s “Carrying Concealed Deadly Weapons License Training” web page
Carry Concealed Deadly Weapon (CCDW)
I hope this site will become a useful and informative resource for the residents of Floyd County. Can’t find something? Have a suggestion or an idea? Let me know. Your feedback is invaluable!
Note: The DOCJT Legal Handout (29 pages) is now required to be read by new applicants. The Sheriff is suggesting you read the handoutprior to coming into the Sheriff's Office. Applicants will be required to sign a certificate that they have read and understood the handout prior to completing the application.
With the passing of House Bill 40, qualified Kentucky residents are allowed to conceal and carry deadly weapons as of October 1, 1996.
The Kentucky State Police are in-charge of issuing a Concealed Carry Permit to carry a Concealed Deadly Weapon. Our job is to take an application for a permit from a Floyd County resident and verify his/her completion certificate of the required training from a qualified training instructor along with the payment of necessary fees and take a photograph of the applicant and forward that information to the Kentucky State Police. Then in approximately 3-5 weeks when the Kentucky State Police issue a permit they notify the applicant via mail and the applicant can pick-up his/her permit in our office during normal business hours (8:00am-4:00pm M-F).
As of July 12, 2006, in accordance with House Bill 290 and the changes it made to KRS 237.110, anyone applying for a CCDW license or renewal must be a citizen of the United States. Applicants who are not US citizens will need to fill out and sign an Immigration Status Affidavit declaring their CCDW eligibility, which will be attached to the application.
Another change that was made to KRS 237.110 states that of the $60 application fee, $40 of it must be a check or money order made payable to Kentucky State Treasurer, and any application submitted to the KSP that does not have the $40 fee with it will be returned unprocessed. The remaining $20, (of the $60 application fee), can be cash, check or money order made out to the Floyd County Sheriff’s Office.
For more on House Bill 290, click the following link: http://www.lrc.ky.gov/record/06RS/HB290/bill.doc
What Credentials Do You Need To Bring:
• State of Kentucky Drivers License or Official Photo ID and Proof of Kentucky Residency
• Training Certificate Original plus copy (A copy can be made at the Sheriff’s Office)
• Photo for the Application (A photo will be taken at the Sheriff’s Office)
CCDW Application Fee
Application Fee (check or money order made payable to Kentucky State Treasurer)
Application Fee (cash, check or money order to the Floyd County Sheriff’s Office)
Photo (If needed)
As of March 9, 2001, we cannot accept a training course certificate from the Department of Fish and Wildlife (Firearms Safety and Hunter Education Course) and federal agencies because neither is providing training in Kentucky firearm laws (Use of Force, Access, etc.) which are required. This also includes the military DD-214, which will NOT be accepted.
Frequently Asked Questions about the Carrying Concealed Deadly Weapon (CCDW) license:
What are the Qualifications for CCDW?
What is needed for a CCDW license?
What is needed to Renew a CCDW license?
What if my license is lost/stolen?
What to do if my name or address changed?